BANGALORE:  Art as a medium cannot be restricted. To some it may be just an array of colour on a canvas but to some it is a vision or even a language. Muthukrishnan Ramalingam is one artist who painted his canvas with all that he imagined.
Despite his  hearing disability and failing eyesight, M. Ramalingam  is especially gifted. His paintings are known all over the world. ” Painting is my language”,  he says ” People know me because of  my paintings”. All his paintings have been influenced by India and most of them involve women. ” I want to show our Indian culture where ever I go. Even in my paintings of Spain I have female characters. There are so many types of women influenced by so many things. The way they dress, their skin color, eye colour , the way they wear their hair. Even religion influences their dressing sense. They portrayed our culture perfectly.They are like flowers. Colorful yet different.”
An exhibition of M.Ramalingam’s painting is organised by the Association of British Scholars and will be  held over the 14th and 15th June at the Karnataka  Chitrakala Parishath. The exhibition was inaugurated by Shri Shankar Linge Gowda , Chairman of The Karnataka Chitrakala Parishad.
M. Ramalingam won his first award for painting in tenth grade where he went to school with other disabled children. He went to a regular college with regular students. When he was 23 years old , he went to Britain for three months just for a tour but soon after he returned to India, he was asked to come back. He joined the Oxford Print Makers Fine Arts Studio to further learn painting.He exhibited his paintings in London, Spain and USA. He is also a Charles Wallace scholar. ” I have seen the work of Picasso and M.F.Hussain in London. Their work is extremely  bold ,powerful and beautiful.. I have met M.F. Hussain twice myself” , he said.

M.Ramalingam is a Charles Wallace Scholar.His inspiration, he  says is nature and everything that he sees everyday and mostly everything is based on his observation. He paints auto rickshaws in most of his paintings to symbolize Chennai and the Taj Hotel to symbolize Mumbai.

” Most of  his painting are two dimensional because  that is how he sees them”, said K.C.Janardhan, President of the Association of British Scholars
On being asked how it was growing up a disability, M.Ramalingam said ” At first i was very scared. I was the only one with a disability in my college and going to Britain with it seemed daunting. But later i realized that I was no different. Where ever I went people understood everything I said. My paintings spoke volumes on my behalf. I had absolutely no difficulties communicating”
The word disability barely existed in M.Ramalingam’s life. For him it was no hurdle. His story is inspirational not only to those with disabilities but also to those with with personal challenges.
